logoSuper League Central is your destination for updates on inaugural 2014 Indian Super League. Visit Super League Central for all the latest news, results, fixtures, standings and rumours from Indian Super League and the eight competing teams, as well as for any additional information about the Indian Super League. Join us in following the success of the inaugural league and the new franchise teams Atlético de Kolkata, Delhi Dynamos, FC Pune City, Kerala Blasters, Mumbai City FC, North East United, along with the yet-unnamed Bangalore and Goa teams.

About the Indian Super League

ISL stands for the Indian Super League, a new format football premiership launching soon in India. Modelled on the the successful Indian Premier League cricket and US Major League Soccer, the Indian Super League will feature eight franchise teams spanning across West Bengal, Delhi, Kerala, Maharashtra, Assam, Goa and Karnataka. A short-format competition running from October to December 2014, a finals series will determine the champion of the competition.

Featuring clubs with names the likes of Atlético de Kolkata and Delhi Dynamos, and international superstars including French international Robert Pires and Liverpool winger Luis Garcia, the Indian Super League promises to breathe excitement into the world of Indian football.

Teams in the Indian Super League

The franchise teams already announced for this ISL season are Atlético de Kolkata, Delhi Dynamos, FC Pune City, Kerala Blasters, Mumbai City FC, North East United. Two further teams from Bangalore and Goa are to be added, however their names are yet to be released. Visit the Teams section of Super League Central for more information on your favourite side.

Who owns the ISL franchises?

Indian Super League franchises are owned by a variety of Indian socialites, Bollywood superstars, cricket stars, multinational organisations and even foreign football clubs. Some notable owners in the 2014 Indian Super League include Sachin Tendulkar, Atlético Madrid, Sourav Ganguly, Salman Khan and the Wadhawan Group.

How does the Indian Super League work?

The Indian Super League features eight franchise teams spread across India. At the end of the regular season, the top four sides in the Indian Super League will qualify for the semi-finals, played over two legs. The winners of these matches progress to a one-off grand final.

What are the ISL team rules?

Each team in the Indian Super League is made up of 22 players, which includes one marquee, seven foreigners and 14 Indian players. Of the 14 Indian players, four must be from the city of the franchise.